RSS Feed

Alma Guillermoprieto: “Fiction became impossible for me.”

Text: Julie Schwietert Collazo
Photo & Video: Francisco Collazo
**

Alma Guillermoprieto.

Alma Guillermoprieto.

I’ve long admired journalist Alma Guillermoprieto, whose interests and approach to them mirror my own. Though I’ve followed her career and read her writing for many years, I’d never had the opportunity to hear her speak in person until last week, when she offered several presentations as part of the “Reading Mexico” series at BookExpo America.

In the following video, Guillermoprieto answers the question, “Why don’t you write fiction?” Her response sums up why I’ve never dipped my pen into the inkwell of that genre, either:

Leave a Reply

