RSS Feed

Getting up early to work

Sunrise in Long Island City

I’ve been trying out a new strategy. It’s called: getting up early to work.

With a 16 month old who is very active and doesn’t nap or sleep much, my opportunities for unbroken stretches of quiet, focused work are extremely limited. I was getting really frustrated with the pattern of sitting in front of the computer for hours and hours without getting anything done AND feeling like a loser mom and partner. The only way to break that pattern, I thought, was to change my approach. The only time that looked possible to claim as “mine” was 5:30 AM.

So now, that’s my wake up time.

Getting up at 5:30 is not easy. At all. But it gives me three or four hours to work in silence… and occasionally I get to see an incredible sunrise like the one above.

6 responses »

  1. Sounds like a good strategy! Not that I’m back to work yet, but I’ve been staying up during the night so Duarte can sleep before going to class and sleeping in the evenings (like 8pm to midnight) while Duarte is studying. It’s nice to have that quiet time (Gabriel is already sleeping in 3 hour stretches!) so I’ve had time to focus on researching things, answering emails, taking care of myself during the late night/early morning hours.

    Hope the 5:30 routine is working out for you!

    Reply
  2. I admire your resolve. This is something I’ve often wanted to make myself do – build the necessary time for writing and thinking into my day – but I haven’t yet broken past my body’s resistance to early starts. It’s nice to be reminded that people can still have control of their own time, if even to a small degree.

    Hope it continues to work for you!

    Reply
  3. I would love to do that, but can’t seem to go to bed any earlier than 2 a.m. and I’m never up until 9:30. I need your determination.

    Reply
  4. Reminds me of some posts from DM when he was living in Seattle…”up at 5:30, my only time to read or writer, running a Bolano novel through the speed reader while listening to XXXX, both at 120 bpm”

    or something like that.

    Reply
  5. Wow – 5:30. I totally get the feeling of sitting in front of the computer and not feeling productive – I hope 5:30 works out for you! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Thanks, everyone. When I *do* manage to get up at 5:30 (and I did today!), the day is incredibly productive and everyone in the family feels better. I highly recommend it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

