RSS Feed

9 responses »

  1. Thanks for the tip! I’m still learning how to really use twitter but creating lists will be my next step.

    Reply
    • Rebecca-

      I’m just starting to populate my writer/editor/publications lists, which is why I haven’t made them public on my Twitter profile yet, but I’m happy to share.

      Reply
  2. This reminds me of an annoyance I have with Matador. The RSS feed doesn’t include the author’s name. It is a minor hassle to click through to the site from Google Reader, but it is still a hassle.

    As a side effect, I have learned to identify certain authors entirely by their writing style and personal details included in the piece.

    Reply
    • Hi, Ted!
      Ah, if we had a buck for every tech issue at Matador, we could run the business for 10 years. 😉
      I totally hear you and I’m going to ask Ian if it’s possible to change this. To be honest, I have no idea what’s involved in making that change, so no promises other than I’ll do my best to see if Ian can address it! 🙂 Hope you and your family are well!

      Reply
  3. I almost always look to see who the author of an article is, even if it’s after I’ve read it, and I really like learning a little bit about them – it helps me to understand the context.

    What surprises me is how many single-author blogs out there don’t include that information – I see many that just have “admin” as the author, or some pseudonym (e.g. “wanderer”), and either no “about” page, or a skimpy, vague one. It makes me wonder why someone would NOT want to take credit for their work? Do they not stand behind their position?

    It sometimes makes it hard to view an article as being authentic as it might be, when I don’t know if the source is truly trustworthy.

    Reply
    • Trisha, I agree and I have a huge problem with that kind of vagueness and anonymity.

      I started receiving The Economist recently and noticed that none of their articles have bylines. I’m not sure why that is (and haven’t had a chance to see if they have any statement about that online), but I find it problematic.

      Reply
  4. I’m probably weird in that I like to read bylines before I even read the article. Helps me understand a little more where the author’s coming from. I definitely distrust articles with no bylines. (Not that I distrust The Economist, but I do find their practice strange.)

    Reply
  5. I think that’s a great tip and – although in plain sight – not that obvious at all.

    As for Twitter lists, I’m the same. I had a load of groups set up on Seesmic, but then changed to another interface so I lost them all. Following other people’s lists at the minute, and slowly doing my own to fill in the gaps ; )

    Reply
  6. I am a byline reader too. It’s one reason I absolutely love websites. They allow you to explore the writer’s profile so much better than print publications.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

