RSS Feed

What I’m reading now.

There are few truisms about writing–or anything else–that can’t be disputed, but one that’s absolutely true is that a good writer is also a voracious reader.

Just as I like to know about other writers’ processes, I also like to know what other writers are reading and a bit about how they read (many books at the same time like JoAnna and myself?).

Here’s what I’m reading now:

Books:

Magazines & Journals:

Magazines and journals I subscribe to include: Afar, The Economist, Fast Company, Inc., National Geographic Traveler, Sherman’s Travel, Virginia Quarterly Review, The Atlantic, New York, New Yorker, Wired.

Magazines I read occasionally include: Poets & Writers, Saveur, Oxford American, BOMB

Spanish language magazines I read when I can find them: Gatopardo, Letras Libres

Newspapers:

I subscribe to the New York Times’ Friday-Saturday-Sunday issues and the Wall Street Journal’s Monday-Friday editions.

Blogs:

More than 100 blogs populate my Reader, but some of my favorites that aren’t about travel writing include:

Abstract City: Artist, children’s book author/illustrator, and New Yorker Christopher Niemann gets around to updating this NY Times blog about once every month (or three).  The wait is usually worth it.

Exodus: Sometimes, I don’t like to describe people because I don’t want to get any details wrong, or pigeonhole them, so here’s what Alexis has to say about herself:

The name of the blog describes what I write about: the movements of peoples from one place to the other, the melting and crossing of different cultures, and the places in which I find myself.

I am a 25-year-old writer currently at work on my first book, a collection of stories about my time in East Africa. I grew up in Montgomery, AL and later graduated from Princeton University.

Exploiting My Baby:  Came across this very untraditional mommy blog courtesy of Kate (whose own blog is pretty damn funny). Like Abstract City, EMB gets updated about once a quarter, but when there’s a new post, it’s gut-busting good. Without fail.

Hari’s Online Humour Journal: I know there are some people in this world who think I don’t have much of a sense of humor. You’re wrong, and if you are ever within earshot when I’m checking out this blog, you’ll realize I actually love to laugh.

Utne Daily:  This blog makes up for all the other “I update once in a blue moon” blogs on this list because there’s always something good on the UD every single day.

I’d love to know what you’re reading. Share in the comments.

16 responses »

  1. Currently got a stack of magazines I’m reading/reviewing – Afar, NGT, Sherman’s Travel, Wanderlust, and many more.

    Still have many half-read travel anthologies lying all over the place.

    Reply
  2. Hey Julie!!

    I do have a blog, you can visit it at:

    http://www.ramirofigueroa.wordpress.com

    Stay in touch chilanga!!

    Reply
    • Just visited- would be interested in talking about your environmental photos in Jalisco. Te enviare un mensaje.

      Reply
  3. Hey! Someone left a comment over at my blog saying we were reading the same book… I just read Dow’s latest book, too. SO GOOD. I blogged about how I couldn’t put it down! Interested to see what you think.

    Reply
    • I made the mistake of reading the NY Times’ review of the book (not particularly favorable) first, which I hope won’t color my opinion of the book. I’ll let you know!

      Reply
  4. I might steal this blog post idea from you 😉 I, too, have the to read/started reading stack of magazines & books… it never ends!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: 3 Things I’m Reading Right Now That Are Worth Sharing « Cuaderno Inedito

  6. Currently reading:

    Books: Kerouac’s “The Dharma Bums”, Byron Katie’s “Loving What Is”, re-reading Barbara Kingsolver’s “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle”. (Like you and JoAnna, I tend to read a couple at a time.)

    Magazines: Foreign Policy, Afar, Veg News, ReadyMade, Southern Living, Wired, Dwell, Oprah.

    Newspapers: The online editions of bbcnews and nytimes, sometimes catching the washington post.

    Reply
  7. I’m gonna imitate Nancy, and list succinctly:

    Books: Goodbye Tsugumi, by Banana Yoshimoto, Snow Country, by Yasunari Kawabata (I don’t know why, but I’ve been on a Japanese kick lately)

    Magazines (at least the ones that are sitting on my coffee table): The Economist, Vanity Fair, Scientific American, National Geographic, The New Yorker (A gift of which I’ve tired, but it occasionally has some standout pieces)

    Newspapers: NYT comes to my door M-F, but that may be ending soon, unfortunately. I have endless love for that paper. I pick up the Washington Post a lot, because I’m local. Then there’s the online news sources. Lately, I’ve been Reading Al Jazeera.

    And my hot and cold relationship with lit journals: Spoon River Poetry Review (one of the few and the brave great poetry reviews), Poetry, Open City, Crab Tree Orchard Review, and occasionally, if I’m feeling truly generous towards the literary elite, The Paris Review.

    How is Afar, Julie? I’m really curious to read it, but it’s hard to find in my somewhat-isolated area, and I can’t afford another subscription (stares at coffee table). I’d have a feeling I’d really like it, more than most print travel magazines.

    Reply
    • Afar is… hmm. After three issues, I still can’t quite give an elevator speech for this magazine. There are some pieces that I’ve thought are exceptional, including one by a writer who wrote a full-length feature about giving money to a local and how that’s unspooled over 20+ years. I like its “departments” and concepts, but the execution occasionally feels flat.

      Reply
  8. Though I guess that wasn’t terribly succinct. 😉

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Writing about crappy experiences for travel publications: 3 examples « Cuaderno Inedito

Leave a Reply

