RSS Feed

If you want to imitate anyone, let it be Gabby Sidibe

Francisco just published a piece on our blog, Collazo Projects, about the writer Sapphire and her novel, Push, which has been adapted for film and is currently on the festival circuit (to be released to theaters in November under the title “Precious”).

If you haven’t read Push, I won’t spoil it for you, but it deals with heavy issues like sexual violence, poverty, family abuse, teen pregnancy, and adolescent identity… and that’s just for starters.

Anyhow, earlier this week, I read a short article in New York Magazine about Gabby Sidibe, the actress who plays the protagonist, Precious, in the film. Sidibe is a “new talent” whose performance in “Precious” has left reviewers astonished that such a big girl can also be such a fine actress. I loved, loved, loved that Sidibe took them on–and a few other folks–in the article. Some of my favorite lines:

“One woman in the retinue, meeting [Sidibe] for the first time, gushes, ‘You look totally opposite to your character.’

‘Thanks,’ says Sidibe dutifully. ‘I’m actually … not her.'”

“They [reviewers/the press] try to paint the picture that I was this downtrodden, ugly girl who was unpopular in school and in life, and then I got this role and now I’m awesome,” says the actress. “But the truth is that I’ve been awesome, and then I got this role.”

“I learned to love myself, because I sleep with myself every night and I wake up with myself every morning, and if I don’t like myself, there’s no reason to even live the life. I love the way I look. I’m fine with it. And if my body changes, I’ll be fine with that.”
“I know I’m not a piece of shit or some random fat girl. I’m Gabourey Sidibe.”

“I’m not a regular girl. I just got off a plane from France. You need to check yourself.”

Leave a Reply

